All-time Australian XI in the IPL

Share the post

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been an extremely popular tournament that cements its position as the biggest Twenty20 cricket league in the world. The league gives a chance to all the players to showcase their talent in the IPL. The exposure and the experience that a player gets from IPL is the main reason why boards of several nations are keen to send their players to participate in the tournament. One such nation is Australia.

The Australian players have played a massive role in the success of the IPL. The dominance of Australians in the IPL cannot be denied. The IPL has become a favourite destination for Australian cricketers since the glory days of Adam Gilchrist to the domination of David Warner. Australia are at the top of the list when it comes to generating excellent players, as seen by a number of Australian maestros shattering records and outplaying the opponents in the IPL.


Here, we take a look at an All-time XI consisting of Australian players in the IPL


David Warner and Shaun Marsh

David Warner will take the crease alongside Shaun Marsh for the All-time Australian XI in IPL. They both have played significant roles in their respective franchises. Warner is the fifth-highest run-scorer in IPL and highest among the overseas players. He has featured in staggering 148 matches and has scored 5447 runs at an average of 42.22 and a strike rate of around 140. His most significant season came in 2016, where he scored 848 runs and led Sunrisers Hyderabad to their maiden IPL title. Warner also has a record three orange caps under his kitty.


On the other hand, Shaun Marsh was among the first Australians to achieve success in the IPL. In the inaugural season, he smashed 616 runs to grab the orange cap. He is one of the few Australians to feature in the IPL before making their international debut. In 71 matches, Marsh has scored 2477 runs at an average of around 40 and a strike rate of 132.74.

Middle Order

Adam Gilchrist, Mike Hussey, Shane Watson, and Marcus Stoinis

The most crucial and the deciding factor in the line-up will consist of Adam Gilchrist, Mike Hussey, Shane Watson, and Marcus Stoinis.


Gilchrist and Hussey are some of the most dependable batters in the IPL. They will be responsible to control the pace of the match and play sensibly. Gilchrist has featured in 80 matches and has smashed 2069 runs at an average of 27.22 and a strike rate of 138.39. He led Deccan Chargers to the IPL title in 2009 after ending at the last in the previous season. Hussey was an integral part of CSK and played a crucial role in its success. In 59 matches, he has scored 1977 runs at an average of 38.76 and also bagged the orange cap in IPL 2013.

Shane Watson and Marcus Stoinis would come in handy during collapses and crucial phases of the match. Their role would change as per the situation and their ability to shift gears quickly would play an important part. Shane Watson has bagged the two player of the season awards in IPL and was a key member in the Rajasthan Royals IPL triumph in 2008. His majority of success came in the early seasons of IPL when he used to bat in the middle order. Watson has played 72 innings in the middle order and has smashed 1753 runs at an average of 29. Also, he can come in handy with the ball.


On the other hand, Stoinis has been a decent player who plays spin well and can score quickly if needed. He has scored 896 runs in 54 matches at a strike rate of 137.84.


Glenn Maxwell and Pat Cummins

All-rounders are the backbone of every team who provide an ideal balance in the team. Glenn Maxwell and Pat Cummins would play the role of all-rounders as well as finishers. Maxwell has had a roller-coaster ride in IPL after the memorable 2014 season where he scored 552 runs to help Punjab reach the finals. Overall, in 89 matches he has smashed 1728 runs at a massive strike rate of 153.32 and has also grabbed 19 wickets in the process.


Whereas, Pat Cummins would be a key aspect in the bowling department and also with additional power-striking abilities. In 37 matches, he has grabbed 38 wickets at an economy of 8.23. Pat Cummins, over the past few years, has also developed his batting abilities. In IPL 2021, he had an impressive strike rate of 166.07.


Shane Warne, Brett Lee, and Mitchell Johnson

 The trio of Shane Warne, Brett Lee, and Mitchell Johnson would handle the proceedings with the ball and complete the Australian XI. Warne, who led Rajasthan Royals to IPL triumph in 2008 would be leading the Australian XI. Not only as captain, but he also played a crucial role with the ball, picking up 57 wickets in 55 matches at an economy of just 7.27.


The lethal pair of Brett Lee and Mitchell Johnson will be responsible for creating havoc among the batters. Lee hasn’t been regular in the IPL but still is one of the most deadly bowlers. He has picked up 25 wickets in 38 matches at an economy of just 7.50.

Coming to Mitchell Johnson, he played a big role in Mumbai Indians IPL victories. In 2013, he picked up a staggering 24 wickets, and in 2017, he defended 11 runs in the final over to help Mumbai clinch the titles. Overall in 54 matches, he has 61 wickets to his name at an economy of 8.28.


Share the post

Related Articles

Back to top button