8 Popular Cricketers Of This Era Who Have Played For More Than One Ranji Trophy Team

Share the post

Ranji Trophy is the premier red-ball tournament in India. While players usually represent their native states, at times, few of them take NOCs to move to a different team. The reasons for this could be of various nature. While issues with the current board could be a reason, lack of opportunities or the desire for a new challenge could be the other factors. A few famous cricketers have also gone through this process. On that note, in this article, we take a look at the list of eight popular cricketers of this era who have played for more than one Ranji Trophy Team.

1) MS Dhoni (Bihar and Jharkhand)

MS Dhoni is one of the popular cricketers of this era who have played for more than one Ranji Trophy Team. As seen in his biopic, MSD started his career with Bihar. However, the Jharkhand Cricket Association was formed in 2000 and the team made its FC debut in 2004. From then on, Dhoni has been playing for his native state. Although he was active in his initial years, for obvious reasons, he could not give much time to domestic cricket later on.


2) Zaheer Khan (Baroda and Mumbai)

India’s legendary left-arm seamer Zaheer Khan also played for more than one Ranji Team. He started his career with Baroda, for whom he played until 2006. However, he later joined Mumbai and played for the most successful Ranji Trophy Team until 2014.

3) Robin Uthappa (Karnataka, Saurashtra and Kerala)

For the 2017 season, Robin Uthappa made the shift from Karnataka to Saurashtra. This was mainly in search of a consistent run in the playing XI. He stayed two years there and from 2019, he has been representing Kerala. Hence, the former Karnataka skipper has played for three teams so far in his domestic career.


4) Irfan Pathan (Baroda and Jammu & Kashmir)

Irfan Pathan is also one of the popular cricketers of this era who have played for more than one Ranji Trophy Team. From 2000 to 2017, Pathan was an integral part of Baroda. He also made his India debut while with the team. However, as his career got to its final stages, Irfan moved to J&K as a player-cum-mentor. Although he did not play for a long time, he helped develop the game in the state with his involvement.

5) Ambati Rayudu (Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, Baroda and Vidharba)

Ambati Rayudu is one man who has tried out opportunities in multiple associations. One of the main reasons for his constant change of teams is that he had issues with the boards. Nevertheless, there was a stable phase with Baroda between 2010 and 2015. The player has been part of both teams based out of the Telugu states ie Hyderabad and Andhra Pradesh. Many players including Hanuma Vihari have also shifted between these two teams.


6) Wasim Jaffer (Mumbai and Vidharba)

Wasim Jaffer happens to be the highest run-scorer in the history of the Ranji Trophy. While the bulk of these 12038 runs came in Mumbai, in the final few years of his career, Jaffer played for Vidharba. He helped the Nagpur-based team to win the title with his exquisite batting displays.

7) Virender Sehwag (Delhi and Haryana)

Towards the end of his career, Virender Sehwag had a few issues with the Delhi cricket association. Hence, the swashbuckling opener shifted his loyalties to Haryana. Sehwag was part of one season in Haryana before he ceased taking part in domestic games.


8) Piyush Chawla (Uttar Pradesh and Gujarat)

Piyush Chawla played for Uttar Pradesh in the peak years of his domestic cricket. However, in 2017, the leg-spinner left his native state and joined Gujarat. The dual World Cup winner is representing Gujarat at the moment.


Share the post

Related Articles

Back to top button