T20 World Cup 2022: India to face Australia and New Zealand as ICC announces schedule for the warmup fixtures

The Warm-up games of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will be played in Brisbane and Melbourne

Share the post

The countdown for the T20 World Cup 2022 has begun. The marquee event will take place in Australia with the qualifier stage of the tournament set to begin from 16th October. The super 12 stages of the tournament will kickstart from 22nd October and the final is slated to take place on the 13th of November at the iconic Melbourne cricket ground.

India to face New Zealand and Australia in the warmup games

The T20 World Cup 2022 is less than 50 days away from now. Teams have started to name the squad for the market tournament. So far defending champions Australia along with New Zealand, England, South Africa and Netherlands have announced their squads.


The excitement for the event is increasing day by day and it was raised to one level more when on Thursday (8th September), ICC announced the schedule for the warmup games, that will be played in Melbourne and Brisbane

For the teams who will play qualifiers, they will have warmup games slated to take place from between October 10 and 13. Whereas teams that have already qualified for the Super 12 stage will play the warm-up games from October 17 to 19.



Talking about the Indian Cricket Team, they will lock horns against Australia on 17th October and New Zealand on 19th October at the Gabba in Brisbane. Although the first round of warmup fixtures will not be telecasted on Tv, Star Sports, who recently bagged ICC’s Global Broadcast Partner rights, will broadcast the second round of the pre-tournament games.

Full schedule for the Warmup Games for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022

10th Oct – West Indies v UAE, Junction Oval
10th Oct – Scotland v Netherlands, Junction Oval
10th Oct – Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, MCG


11th Oct – Namibia v Ireland, MCG

12th Oct – West Indies v Netherlands, MCG


13th Oct – Zimbabwe v Namibia, Junction Oval
13th Oct – Sri Lanka v Ireland, Junction Oval
13th Oct – Scotland v UAE, MCG


17th Oct – Australia v India, The Gabba
17th Oct – New Zealand v South Africa, Allan Border Field
17th Oct – England v Pakistan, The Gabba
17th Oct – Afghanistan v Bangladesh, Allan Border Field

19th Oct – Afghanistan v Pakistan, The Gabba
19th Oct – Bangladesh v South Africa, Allan Border Field
19th Oct – New Zealand v India, The Gabba


Share the post

Related Articles

Back to top button