NewsT20 Leagues

ICC Named Most Valuable XI Of The T20 World Cup; No Indian Players Picked

Share the post

Australia defeated New Zealand by eight wickets to lift the 2021 T20 World Cup on Sunday. With this, the Australian Men’s Team won its first T20 World Cup. A day after the event, ICC declared the most valuable XI of the competition. In this article, we take a look at the most valuable XI of the T20 World Cup that has been announced by the ICC.

Most Valuable XI of the T20 World Cup announced

The team announced includes a 12th man along with the playing XI. Players from six different teams made it to this squad. It has been picked by a team consisting of commentators, former international players and journalists. While Babar Azam is named as the captain of the side, his teammate Shaheen Afridi is the 12th man.


David Warner and Jos Buttler are the openers in the XI. While Warner is named the Player of the Tournament, Buttler was the sole centurion in the event. Babar Azam, who made 303 runs in the event, took the No.3 position. Sri Lanka’s Charith Asalanka and South Africa’s Aiden Markram formed the rest of the middle-order.

Moeen Ali and Wanindu Hasaranga were selected as the all-rounders while Adam Zampa came in as the specialist spinner. Josh Hazlewood, Trent Boult and Anrich Nortje formed the pace attack, and Shaheen Afridi is selected as the 12th man.

No Indian players picked

Interestingly, ICC did not name a single Indian player in the XI. Team India lost the first two games of the competition. Although they convincingly won the remaining encounters, it was not enough to reach the semi-final. A few players did well but could not qualify for ICC’s Most Valuable XI.

Meanwhile, the countdown has already started for the next edition of the event. The upcoming T20 World Cup will take place in Australia within less than a year to go.


Share the post

Related Articles

Back to top button